Christian Conference of Asia

| Home | About CCA | News Update | Programs | Resource | Contact Us |

About CCA

Member Churches
Member Councils

Current Staff

Related Organisations


CCA at a Glance

The Christian Conference of Asia began as the East Asia Christian Conference, which was constituted by a decision of churches, national councils of churches and national Christian councils whose representatives met at Prapat, Indonesia, in March 1957. It was inaugurated at an assembly at Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, in May 1959. In the light of changing circumstances the 1973 Assembly, meeting in Singapore, agreed to change the name to Christian Conference of Asia (CCA). In doing so, it retained the purpose of the East Asia Christian Conference and provided for continuing work along the same or similar lines.

Believing that the purpose of God for the church in Asia is life together in a common obedience of witness to the mission of God in the world, CCA exists as an organ and a forum of continuing cooperation among the churches and national Christian bodies in Asia within the framework of the wider ecumenical movement.

CCA is committed to the equal participation of women, men, youth, clergy and laity in church and society.

As a regional ecumenical movement, the Christian Conference of Asia continues to strive for:

  • the promotion and strengthening of the unity of the church in Asia

  • the exploration of opportunities and the promotion of joint action for the fulfillment of the mission of God in Asia and throughout the world

  • the encouragement of an Asian contribution to Christian thought, worship and action throughout the world

  • the development of mutual awareness, fellowship and sharing among the churches in the region, and of relationships with other regional ecumenical organisations and the World Council of Churches

  • the promotional of common study and action in such fields as evangelism, service, social and human development and international relations

  • the stimulation of initiatives and experiments in dynamic Christian living and action

  • the development of effective Christian response to the challenges of the changing societies of Asia

  • the development and promotion of relationships with people of other faiths in Asia

  • the protection of human dignity and the promotion of caring for the creation.

CCA seeks to act, from deep spirituality and theology, as a facilitating agent for dialogue and action on issues of common concern and for the breaking down of barriers that separate and cause division between the peoples of Asia.

Its current priorities include:

  • engaging and sustaining efforts to deepen, strengthen and enliven the koinonia of Asian churches and Christian communities

  • making more real the 'inclusive character of the ecumenical fellowship'

  • healing some of the unfortunate divisions and separations that have occurred in the life of Asian churches and society as a result of past political and ideological conflicts

  • strengthening ecumenical formation in order to make the ecumenical movement a reality to Asian churches, Christian groups and society

  • pursuing further the expansion of the ecumenical fellowship in Asia to involve both Roman Catholics and evangelical churches and communities

  • revitalising the ecumenical vision, thought and action in regard to the emerging challenges in the life of Asia and of Asia's place in the world.

Churches joining the CCA are those that confess the Lord Jesus Christ as God and Saviour according to the scriptures and that therefore seek to fulfil their common calling to the one God, Father, Son and Holy Spirit. National councils or similar bodies joining CCA must be councils or bodies that approve this basis.

The CCA family includes the membership of 17 National Councils and over 100 Churches/denominations in 21 countries:- Aotearoa-New Zealand, Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Iran, Laos, Nepal, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Myanmar, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Taiwan and Thailand, Timor Lorosae.

The quinquennial Assembly, where delegates chosen by member councils and churches meet for a time of fellowship and enrichment as well as to set forth the priorities and programs for the next five years, is the supreme policy-making body, under Christ.

The General Committee is elected by the Assembly. It is composed of the elected officers and one representative from each country represented in CCA. It has the powers of the Assembly between Assembly meetings and normally meets in the year of the Assembly, and thereafter at least once in eighteen months.

The Executive Committee is elected by the General Committee and is composed of officers and three to five members of the General Committee. It meets in the years when the General Committee is not meeting and other times as required by the General Committee.

There are three program cluster committees elected by the Assembly.

  1. Ecumenical Formation, Gender Justice and Youth Formation (EGY)

  2. Faith, Mission and Unity (FMU)

  3. Justice, International Affairs and Development and Service (JID)

The program cluster committees are responsible to develop and implement the programs in accordance with the mandate of the General Assembly and the guidelines provided by the General Committee. Each program committee, accountable to the General Committee, is served by a staff person, and is presided over by a moderator chosen by the Assembly.

The General Secretariat coordinates Special Programmes to deal with urgent needs and emerging trends. The relevant program cluster and/or consultants assists the General Secretariat in organising and running these Special Programmes. There are currently two Special Programmes under the General Secretariat;

  1. HIV and Aids Concerns

  2. Emergency and Solidarity Fund

Financial Basis
The work and programmes of CCA are supported through contributions from CCA member churches and councils and other ecumenical partners.

Ecumenical Relationships
In the context of the ecumenical task of the church, CCA continues to strive for mutual and reciprocal relationships with other ecumenical bodies, both global and regional, so that the common witness of the churches in Asia is fostered for the benefit of the peoples of Asia.